E is for… Easy Risotto!

I’m not the world’s best cook – or hopefully the world’s worst! But I always get praise for my lasagne and my risotto. Here is my easy peasy risotto recipe, if I can cook it, anyone can!

Ingredients (serves 4)

2 medium onions

1 clove garlic

4 or 5 mushrooms

500g chicken

knob of butter

1 litre hot chicken stock

250g italian risotto rice

175ml single cream

a few turns of black pepper

handful of cooked peas

Directions

Melt the butter in a large pan and add the garlic (finely chopped) and the onions (roughly chopped). I tend to use Lazy Garlic as I’m, well, lazy.

Soften these for a few mins and then add the chicken (chopped into equal size pieces). Once the chicken is sealed, add the chopped mushrooms and the risotto rice. I add a few turns of black pepper at this point.

Stir this for a couple of mins, then add the hot chicken stock 1 ladle at a time…. This is a slow process and really shouldn’t be rushed. Add 1 ladle and stir gently until the stock has been absorbed, then add another ladle and so on. This process usually takes around 2-25 mins.

As you add the last ladle, add a handful of cooked peas – this lifts the colour of the risotto and adds a nice fresh taste too. Then stir in the single cream, heat through for a couple more mins and you are done!

I usually serve my risotto with roasted asparagus and grated cheese (and a very large class of very cold dry white!). To roast the asparagus, break off the stalk at the natural point, lay the spears onto a baking tray, spray with 1 cal spray, sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper, then add very light drizzle of olive oil. Bake in the oven for 15-20 mins depending on how you like it – I like it crunchy!

And then, because apparently risotto isn’t enough…..

And there we have it! My entry for the Bosch Dishwasher link up hosted by @Scottishmum.

