B is for… Beauty

I see beauty everywhere, especially at the moment. I see it in leaves, in puddles, in clouds and starry nights. The crescent moon last night made me literally stop my car and try to take a photograph – it was breath taking and awe inspiring. Needless to say the photo didn’t come out right, but I saw it and I remember it and it made me think ‘wow’.

I see it in people – blatantly, obviously, some people are just beautiful to look at. I pass the sixth form students on my way to work and some of them are really quite beautiful, and so young and full of promise, hopes, dreams and life. In other people, their faces may show the ravages of time or stress but their eyes sparkle and the beauty shines through. In others still it is the depths of their personality and the kindness of their soul that reaches out and draws you in. I have one friend who just being near her makes me feel warm and calm – I don’t see her enough as it happens, note to self.

I see it in animals – ok, mainly kittens ;) ¬†Actually that’s not true, although I do adore kittens, I see true beauty mainly in wild animals. That moment in the woods or while driving along when you catch a glimpse of a deer – it’s amazing whatever your age. I think that’s something my children and I love about Centre Parcs – those glimpses of animals which you don’t normally get to see up close. We leave piles of food out for them and then wait. Ok so it backfired a tad with the swan who decided he really, really preferred living INSIDE our chalet but we live and learn…

I hear it in song lyrics, sometimes songs feel like they were written just for me.

I see it in my children – every day. I see the perfect beauty of their faces. I hear it when they laugh. I feel it when they need me. I see the wonderful people that they will become and it fair near breaks my heart because I love them so much.

I see it in memories – magical moments held forever in suspended perfection.

I see it in kindness – some people have patience and kindness that knows no bounds and it’s beautiful.

I see it in films – I love how they can stir up such immense emotions. Be it abject terror, lust, love or even anger, it’s magical.

I see it in the written word. Some people have such a gift for writing, some people truly speak to my very soul and I love it, can’t get enough of it, will never tire of it.

I see it in YOU.


If you want to enter the writing workshop the prompts are as follows:

1. Catch 22 (by Joseph Heller)
- Are you feeling stuck with no discernible way out of something?

2. Coming Up For Air (by George Orwell)
- Write about a time you found peace after a difficult time. Or, alternatively, write about breathing spaces. What helps you re-charge?

3. On Beauty (by Zadie Smith)
- Tell us about finding beauty somewhere unexpected. Or about what beauty means to you.

4. Past Secret (by Cathy Kelly)
- Do you have a secret from your past you are brave enough to share?

5. The Book of Lost Things (by Joseph Connolly)
- Write about something you have lost: emotionally, physically, or metaphorically.

