My Legacy

My boys

Just been thinking, if I could only pick one thing to pass on to my boys – what would it be?

Just one thing. One piece of information, one trait, or one word of advice.

It would be:

Don’t require validation.

Sure, I hope they’ll be happy, healthy, wealthy and loved.

I hope they’ll be clever, get good jobs and be a success.

I hope they’ll find true love and be surrounded by friends and laughter.

I hope they’ll be good people who make me proud.

But.

I think if they can learn to love who they are, irrespective of the approval of others, then the rest will fall into place.

I want them to like what they like, because they like it, not because it’s cool.

I want them to act how they like, to be carefree and go with their instincts.

I want them to love freely. And if that person doesn’t love them back, I want them to be able to let go and know that they are worth loving and not to waste their tears on someone who can’t see that.

My boys are amazing. They make me so proud, every day.

I want them to know that, but not need to know that. To be happy in their own skin and love themselves for everything they are and everything that they will be.